header image

Welcome to INDIAN FESTIVAL DIARY

In India most of the festivals are associated with religion. Some of the major festivals of India are Dussehra, Vasant Panchami, Pongal, Janmashtami, Kali Puja, Holi, Eid-ul-Fitr, Ramzan, Muharram, Guru Nanak Jayanti, Christmas etc. These are some of the festivals mainly observed by the Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs and Punjabis and also by the Christians with great devotion, pomp and show in India. Festivals like Dussehra, Diwali, Holi etc are celebrated throughout the country while some others are observed regionally.

Indian Festivals have a great religious and social significance. People celebrate and observed the festival to unite togetherness and forget all their differences and enmity for the sake of their religion, society and friendship. It also teaches a moral lesson amongst people. We should all celebrate the festivals with purity and sacredly; and it is believed that fasts and rituals inspire people to lead a better and healthy life. Children, Young, Old all celebrate these festivals and fasts with great enthusiasm with their families and relatives.

# Name of the Festivals Date
1 International Yoga Festival 01 March (Wednesday) - 07 March, 2017 (Tuesday)
2 Dadu Dayal Jayanti 01 March, 2017 (Wednesday)
3 Vinayaka Chaturthi 02 March, 2017 (Thursday)
4 Skanda Sashti 03 March, 2017 (Friday)
5 Chapchar Kut Festival 03 March, 2017 (Friday)
6 Panchayati Raj Divas 05 March, 2017 (Sunday)
7 Bhanu Saptami 05 March, 2017 (Sunday)
8 Masik Durgashtami 05 March, 2017 (Sunday)
9 Rohini Vrat 05 March, 2017 (Sunday)
10 Paripally Gajamela 05 March, 2017 (Sunday)
11 International Women's Day 08 March, 2017 (Wednesday)
12 No Smoking Day 08 March, 2017 (Wednesday)
13 Amalaki Ekadashi 08 March, 2017 (Wednesday)
14 Narasimha Dwadashi 09 March, 2017 (Thursday)
15 Pradosh Vrat 10 March, 2017 (Friday)
16 Chaumasi Chaudas 11 March, 2017 (Saturday)
17 Masi Magam 11 March, 2017 (Saturday)
18 Vasanta Purnima 12 March, 2017 (Sunday)
19 Lakshmi Jayanti 12 March, 2017 (Sunday)
20 Attukal Pongala 12 March, 2017 (Sunday)
21 Phalguna Purnima 12 March, 2017 (Sunday)
22 Purnima Upavas 12 March, 2017 (Sunday)
23 Chaitanya Mahaprabhu Jayanti 12 March, 2017 (Sunday)
24 Dol Purnima 12 March, 2017 (Sunday)
25 Holika Dahan 12 March, 2017 (Sunday)
26 Holi 13 March, 2017 (Monday)
27 Hola Mohalla 13 March (Monday) - 15 March, 2017 (Wednesday)
28 Meena Sankranti 14 March, 2017 (Tuesday)
29 Karadaiyan Nombu 14 March, 2017 (Tuesday)
30 Shivaji Jayanti 15 March, 2017 (Wednesday)
31 Thirunakkara Arattu 15 March (Wednesday) - 24 March, 2017 (Friday)
32 Sankashti Chaturthi 16 March, 2017 (Thursday)
33 Ranga Panchami 17 March, 2017 (Friday)
34 Sheetala Saptami 19 March, 2017 (Sunday)
35 Sheetala Ashtami, Basoda Puja 20 March, 2017 (Monday)
36 Kala Ashtami, Kalashtami 20 March, 2017 (Monday)
37 Vernal Equinox 20 March, 2017 (Monday)
38 Varshitap Arambha 21 March, 2017 (Tuesday)
39 Nauroz 21 March, 2017 (Tuesday)
40 World Forestry Day 21 March, 2017 (Tuesday)
41 World Meteorological Day 23 March, 2017 (Thursday)
42 Papmochani Ekadashi 24 March, 2017 (Friday)
43 World Tuberculosis Day / TB Day 24 March, 2017 (Friday)
44 Pradosh Vrat 25 March, 2017 (Saturday)
45 Shani Trayodashi 25 March, 2017 (Saturday)
46 Masik Shivaratri 26 March, 2017 (Sunday)
47 Chaitra Amavasya, Darsha Amavasya 28 March, 2017 (Tuesday)
48 Cheti Chand 28 March, 2017 (Tuesday)
49 Chaitra Navratri 28 March (Tuesday) - 05 April, 2017 (Wednesday)
50 Chandra Darshan 29 March, 2017 (Wednesday)
51 Jhulelal Jayanti 29 March, 2017 (Wednesday)
52 Chaitra Shukla, Gudi Padwa 29 March, 2017 (Wednesday)
53 Ugadi 29 March, 2017 (Wednesday)
54 Mewar Festival 29 March (Wednesday) - 31 March, 2017 (Friday)
55 Gauri Puja 30 March, 2017 (Thursday)
56 Attuvela Mahotsavam 30 March, 2017 (Thursday)
57 Gangaur Festival, Gauri Puja 30 March, 2017 (Thursday)
58 Matsya Jayanti 30 March, 2017 (Thursday)
59 Vinayaka Chaturthi 31 March, 2017 (Friday)
60 Kallaji Ka Mela / Kallaji Fair TBA
Disclaimer
Note: Neither we nor the puja organisers hold any responsibility on account of the accuracy of the content provided. we are not responsible for any inadvertent error that may have crept in the process of data aggregation. Kindly visit the respective website / puja website for latest information.

This website contains consolidated links, puja and puja organisers information. We are constantly extending our support to viewers who may face difficulties in finding the detail of the respective puja / puja organisers. Kindly feel free to send us your queries and feedback by Clicking Here.
Top