header image

Ganesh Chaturthi Celebration outside India

Outside India, Ganesh Chaturthi is celebrated widely in Nepal which was only Hindu Kingdom in the world and Tamil Hindus in Sri Lanka.

Ganesh Chaturthi is celebrated in the UK by the migrant Hindu population as well as the large number of Indians residing there. The Hindu culture and Heritage Society, UK - a Southall based organisation celebrated Ganesh Chaturthi for the first time in London in 2005 at The Vishwa Hindu Temple. The Idol was immersed in the river Thames at Putney Pier.

The festival is similarly celebrated in many locations across the world. The Hindu Swayamsevak Sangh USA, an organisation of Hindus based in the US organises many such events to mark the various Hindu festivals.
In Canada Ganesh Chaturthi is celebrated by various associations of Marathi speaking people. (MBM in Toronto, MSBC in Vancouver etc).

Celebration of Ganesh Chaturthi in Mauritius dated back to 1896. The first Ganesh Chaturthi Puja was held at the epth of the 7,Cascades Valley in Henrietta by the Bhiwajee family who is still celebrating this pious festival for more than a century.
Over the years the festival gained such popularity on the island that Mauritian government has attributed a public holiday for that day.

# Name of the Festivals Date
1 April Fool Day 01 April, 2017 (Saturday)
2 Odisha Day 01 April, 2017 (Saturday)
3 Bank Holiday 01 April, 2017 (Saturday)
4 Lakshmi Panchami 01 April, 2017 (Saturday)
5 Rohini Vrat 01 April, 2017 (Saturday)
6 Skanda Sashti 01 April, 2017 (Saturday)
7 Yamuna Chhath 02 April, 2017 (Sunday)
8 Navapad Oli 03 April (Monday) - 11 April, 2017 (Tuesday)
9 Masik Durgashtami 04 April, 2017 (Tuesday)
10 Ram Navami 05 April, 2017 (Wednesday)
11 Babu Jagjivan Ram Birthday 05 April, 2017 (Wednesday)
12 Kamada Ekadashi (Shukrodaya) 07 April, 2017 (Friday)
13 Vamana Dwadashi 07 April, 2017 (Friday)
14 Pradosh Vrat 08 April, 2017 (Saturday)
15 Shani Trayodashi 08 April, 2017 (Saturday)
16 Panguni Uthiram 09 April, 2017 (Sunday)
17 Mahavir Jayanti 09 April, 2017 (Sunday)
18 Purnima Upavas 10 April, 2017 (Monday)
19 Chaitra Purnima 11 April, 2017 (Tuesday)
20 Hazrat Ali’s Birthday 11 April, 2017 (Tuesday)
21 Hanuman Jatanti 11 April, 2017 (Tuesday)
22 Jallianwala Bagh Day 13 April, 2017 (Thursday)
23 Baisakhi / Vaisakhi 14 April, 2017 (Friday)
24 Rongali Bihu / Bohag Bihu / Haat Bihu 14 April (Friday) - 16 April, 2017 (Sunday)
25 Tamil New Year / Puthandu 14 April, 2017 (Friday)
26 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti / Bhim Jayanti 14 April, 2017 (Friday)
27 Vishu Festival 14 April, 2017 (Friday)
28 Sankashti Chaturthi 14 April, 2017 (Friday)
29 Solar New Year 14 April, 2017 (Friday)
30 Mesha Sankranti 14 April, 2017 (Friday)
31 Vishu Kani 14 April, 2017 (Friday)
32 Biju Festival 14 April, 2017 (Friday)
33 Good Friday 14 April, 2017 (Friday)
34 Bengali New Year / Poila Baishakh 15 April, 2017 (Saturday)
35 Easter 16 April, 2017 (Sunday)
36 World Haemophilia Day 17 April, 2017 (Monday)
37 Patriots' Day 17 April, 2017 (Monday)
38 World Heritage Day 18 April, 2017 (Tuesday)
39 Kala Ashtami, Kalashtami 19 April, 2017 (Wednesday)
40 Garia Puja 21 April, 2017 (Friday)
41 Varuthini Ekadashi 22 April, 2017 (Saturday)
42 Shri Vallabhacharya Jayanti 22 April, 2017 (Saturday)
43 Earth Day 22 April, 2017 (Saturday)
44 World Book Day / International Day of the Book 23 April, 2017 (Sunday)
45 Shab E Miraj 24 April, 2017 (Monday)
46 Pradosh Vrat 24 April, 2017 (Monday)
47 Manav Ekta Divas 24 April, 2017 (Monday)
48 Papmochani Ekadashi 24 April, 2017 (Monday)
49 Masik Shivaratri 25 April, 2017 (Tuesday)
50 Darsha Amavasya 26 April, 2017 (Wednesday)
51 Parashurama Jayanti 28 April, 2017 (Friday)
52 Varshitap Parana 28 April, 2017 (Friday)
53 Akshaya Tritiya 28 April, 2017 (Friday)
54 Matangi Jayanti 29 April, 2017 (Saturday)
55 Ramanuja Acharya Jayanti 29 April, 2017 (Saturday)
56 Basava Jayanti 29 April, 2017 (Saturday)
57 Vinayaka Chaturthi 29 April, 2017 (Saturday)
58 Rohini Vrat 29 April, 2017 (Saturday)
59 Adi Shankaracharya Jayanti 30 April, 2017 (Sunday)
60 Surdas Jayanti 30 April, 2017 (Sunday)
61 Kaila Devi Fair
Disclaimer
Note: Neither we nor the puja organisers hold any responsibility on account of the accuracy of the content provided. we are not responsible for any inadvertent error that may have crept in the process of data aggregation. Kindly visit the respective website / puja website for latest information.

This website contains consolidated links, puja and puja organisers information. We are constantly extending our support to viewers who may face difficulties in finding the detail of the respective puja / puja organisers. Kindly feel free to send us your queries and feedback by Clicking Here.
Top