durga puja helpline numbers telephone telephone durga puja helpline numbers
Behala Pujas
Central Kolkata Pujas
North Kolkata Pujas
South Kolkata Pujas
East Kolkata Pujas
  • Ashokenagar Milan Sangha
  • Balaka Abasan Puja Committee
  • Beliaghata Shibtala
  • Bidhanpally Adhibasibrinda
  • Eden Residency Puja Committee
  • Jawpur Bayam Samiti
  • Kishore Sangha
  • Mitra Sanghati
  • Nabapally Sporting Club
  • Sunrise Point Puja Committee
  • Tangra Sarbojanin Durgotsav
  • View full list...
Salt Lake Pujas
  • AB Block Abashik Sangha
  • AG Block Durga Puja
  • BA Block
  • BE (West) Durgotsav Committee
  • BH Block Society
  • BJ Block Durga Puja
  • BL Block Durga Puja
  • CF Block Residents Association
  • FC Block Sarbojonin Durgotsav
  • FD Block Sarbojanin
  • FE Block Residents' Association
  • Labony Estate Puja Committee
  • View full list...
Howrah Pujas
Other Zone(s) Pujas

Maha Ashtami

maha ashtami
Durga Puja
Maha Ashtami or Durga Maha Ashtami is the second day of Durga Puja. According to Hinduism, it is one of the most auspicious days of ten days of long Durga Puja Festival celebrated in all parts of India. Maha Ashtami is also known as ‘Astra Puja’ which means worshipping weapons of goddess Durga.

On the early morning of Maha Ashtami, the day begins with the rituals of ‘Mahasnan’ and ‘Shodashpachar’ Puja which are very similar to Maha Saptami rituals except the ‘Pranpratistha’.

This day is considered as significant for all the devotees as nine small pots are installed before the idol or image to invoke the nine Shaktis of goddess Durga by the priests who perform in ritualistic ways amidst chanting of various mantras. All the nine forms of goddess Durga - Jayanti, Mangola Kali, Bhadra Kali, Kapalini, Kshama Dhatri, Siva, Svaha and Svadha are worshipped during this day.

Kumari Puja is worshipped at Maha Ashtami
Devotees of goddess Durga offer ‘Pushpanjali’ in the morning of Ashtami Tithi after taking a holy bath and fasting. This is done by holding fresh flowers in their hands followed by the mantra recited by the priests. After reciting the Sanskrit mantras, everyone showers flowers at the Goddess’s feet to complete their Pushpanjali. ‘Kumari Puja’ or the worship of little girls aged 12 to 13 are worshipped on this day and perhaps one of the main attractions of the day as the young girl represents goddess Durga in the form of Kumari.
Sandhi Puja at Maha Ashtami
In the evening, the legendary ‘Sandhi Puja’ is conducted as ‘Sandhya Aarti’ to purifier the sins and also marks the inter-linking of Maha Ashtami with Maha Navami. Sandhi Puja is one of the most important ritual performed during Maha Ashtami. The last 24 minutes of the Ashtami Tithi - The end of Maha Ashtami and the first 24 minutes of the Navami Tithi – The beginning of Maha Navami is known as the Sandhi time or Sandhi Puja. At this time Devi Durga is worshipped as Chamunda (a form of goddess Kali who killed the demon Chand and Munda).
Durga Puja Parikrama

Durga Puja is celebrated in West Bengal since the period of...

One of the most awaited festival of West Bengal is Durga...

As the competitive world had ushered in the new millennium...

-: Puja Recipes :-
-: Celebrate Puja :-
Disclaimer Note: Neither we nor the puja organisers hold any responsibility on account of the accuracy of the content provided. we are not responsible for any inadvertent error that may have crept in the process of data aggregation. Kindly visit the respective website / puja website for latest information.

This website contains consolidated links, puja and puja organisers information. We are constantly extending our support to viewers who may face difficulties in finding the detail of the respective puja / puja organisers. Kindly feel free to send us your queries and feedback by Clicking Here.

images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images