durga puja helpline numbers telephone telephone durga puja helpline numbers
Behala Pujas
Central Kolkata Pujas
North Kolkata Pujas
South Kolkata Pujas
East Kolkata Pujas
Salt Lake Pujas
Howrah Pujas
Other Zone(s) Pujas

Shaarod Shiromoni [Green Puja Award] - Durga Puja Awards

Durga Puja Awards
Shaarod Shiromoni

Mission & Story Award Category Award Year Contact Details


15 days before to ‘Panchami’:
About 150 puja pandals are visited by nearly 100 youths all across Kolkata to distribute the Shaarod Shiromoni participation form.

Weekend before to ‘Panchami’: The youths distribute banners of Shaarod Shiromoni and/or 'NO SMOKING' placards to participating Puja organizers. During this exercise they do the first round of screening.

On ‘Panchami’: 40 - 50 pandals are short listed after the first round of screening from 4 zones – North, South, East and West.

On ‘Shasthi’: 4 teams with selected youths visit the short-listed pandals for the second round of screening. The list is further shortened to 15.

On ‘Saptami’: 2 teams with celebrity judges visit all 15 pandals. The scores of the judges are compiled and combined with the previous score of the youths to determine the winners in each category.

On ‘Saptami’ through ‘Ashtami’ morning: The Shaarod Shiromoni parikrama bus with more than 70 youths visit the winning pandals and present the certificates ceremoniously.

After the Durga Puja, an Awards distribution function is organized where the winning Puja organizing committees come and participate in a cultural evening to collect their trophies


Early Days: Circa. 2000: With the advent of the new millennium, a group of young friends in Kolkata got together to make their Durga Puja pandal hopping a bit more interesting. The idea was to rank them and award them on parameters of traditional beauty. It was an instant hit! And since then it's grown into a rare Puja award that is awarded by the youths of Kolkata.

Growing Years
The next few years saw more 'friends' joining in. The number of participating Pujas started increasing. Corporate brands joined force. The awards parameter also started including 'social consciousness'. A celebrity round of judging was introduced. And, Shaarod Shiromoni grew to become the only such recognition that is judged by a movement of youth.

2007: Turning over a new leaf
By now there were a host of Puja awards that had mushroomed. Time was now to do something new. The large crowd of similar award organizers gave us a challenge to improve. So, in 2007 we turned over a new leaf. And decided to go green!

Since then we have are recognizing ‘ Traditional artistry and social consciousness’. Traditional artistry evaluates the brilliance in craftsmanship. Social consciousness, on the other hand, considers the social and environmental causes the organizers will blend in their traditional creations.

Content Courtesy: Shaarod Shiromoni [Green Puja Award]

Durga Puja Parikrama

Durga Puja is celebrated in West Bengal since the period of...

One of the most awaited festival of West Bengal is Durga...

As the competitive world had ushered in the new millennium...

-: Puja Recipes :-
-: Celebrate Puja :-
Disclaimer Note: Neither we nor the puja organisers hold any responsibility on account of the accuracy of the content provided. we are not responsible for any inadvertent error that may have crept in the process of data aggregation. Kindly visit the respective website / puja website for latest information.

This website contains consolidated links, puja and puja organisers information. We are constantly extending our support to viewers who may face difficulties in finding the detail of the respective puja / puja organisers. Kindly feel free to send us your queries and feedback by Clicking Here.
Durga Puja Awards

images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images images
Close Ad [X]
Close Ad [X]